Wynton Marsalis – Think of One

Wynthon Marsalis

Label: CBS – CK 38641
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 1983
Genre: Jazz
Style: Post Bop, Contemporary Jazz, Modal

1 Knozz-Moe-King
2 Fuschia
3 My Ideal
4 What Is Happening Here (Now) ?
5 Think of One
6 Bell Ringer
7 Later
8 Melancholia

Wynton Marsalis (trumpet)
Branford Marsalis (saxophone)
Kenny Kirkland (piano)
Phil Bowler (bass)
Ray Drummond (bass)
Jeff “Tain” Watts (drums).

Elvin Jones – Brother John

Elvin Jones
Label: Palo Alto Jazz – PA 8039-N
Format: Vinyl, LP, 12
Country: US
Released: 1982
Genre: Jazz

Pat LaBarbera saxophonist
Elvin Jones Drummer
Kenny Kirkland Pianist
Reggie Workman bassist

1 Necessary Evil
2 October’s Child
3 Harmonique
4 What Ever Possessed Me
5 Familiar Ground
6 Why Try To Change Me Now
7 Minor Blues
8 Brother John

Elvin Jones – Earth Jones

Elvin Jones

Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on February 10, 1982. Includes liner notes by Herb Wong.
Liner Note Authors: David Liebman; Lee Jeske; Herb Wong.
Recording information: Van Gelder Recording Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (02/10/1982).
Photographer: Darryl Pitt.

Elvin Jones (drums)
Dave Liebman (soprano saxophone, flute)
Terumasa Hino (cornet)
Kenny Kirkland (piano)
George Mraz (bass).

1. Three Card Molly
2. Is Seeing Believing?
3. Top of the Middle
4. Earth Jones
5. Never Let Me Go
6. Day and Night

Peter Erskine – Peter Erskine

Peter Erskine - Peter Erskine

Released :1982
Label: Contemporary

1. Leroy Street 7:53
2. In Statu Nascendi 1:28
3. E.S.P. 2:57
4. Change Of Mind 7:27
5. All’s Well That Ends 11:07
6. My Ship 5:43
7. Coyote Blues 4:42

Randy Brecker on trumpet & fluglehorn
Michael Brecker on tenor saxophone
Bob Mintzer on tenor saxophone and bass clarinet
Mike Mainieri on vibes
Don Grolnick on electric piano
Kenny Kirkland on piano
Eddie Gomez on bass
Don Alias on congas

Wynton Marsalis – Wynton Marsalis

Wynton Marsalis Wynton Marsalis

Released: January 8th, 1982

pianist Herbie Hancock
bassist Ron Carter
drummer Tony Williams
saxophonist Branford Marsalis
pianist Kenny Kirkland
drummer Jeff “Tain” Watts.

1. Father Time 8:15
2. I’ll Be There When The Time Comes 2:33
3. RJ 3:48
4. Hesitation 5:43
5. Sister Cheryl 5:43
6. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)? 5:43
7. Twilight 8:40

Miroslav Vitous – Miroslav Vitous Group

Miroslav Vitous group

Year: 1981
Label: ECM
Info: album is only avaible on vinyl and out-of-print

Miroslav Vitous -> Bass
John Surman -> Soprano and Baritone Saxophones, Bass Clarinet
Kenny Kirkland -> Piano
Jon Christensen -> Drums

1. When Face Gets Pale / 5:51
2. Second Meeting / 5:01
3. Number Six / 5:48
4. Inner Peace / 7:26
5. Interplay / 9:59
6. Gears / 6:35
7. Sleeping Beauty / 5:07
8. Eagle / 2:00

Terumasa Hino – Double Rainbow

Terumasa Hino

Released: 1981
Label: CBS Sony

Arranged by Masabumi Kikuchi and Gil Evans
Produced by Kiyoshi Itoh; Assistant Producer: Hiro KajiwaraExecutive Producer:Toshinari KoinumaProject Coordinator: Hiro Kajiwara and Yukio Morisaki
Recorded by Jim McCurdy; Mixed by Jim McCurdy and Kiyoshi ItohRecorded and mixed at Sound Ideas Studio, NYC in Feburary and March 1981
“Merry-Go-Round”, “Cherry Hill Angel”, “Aboriginal” recorded at The Automatt, San Francisco on February 24, 1981 by Leslie Jones
Mastered by Mitsuharu Kobayashi SONY MUSIC Shinanomachi StudioAssistant Engineers: Todd Anderson, Bob De Caro and Barry Harris

1 Merry-go-Round
2 Cherry Hill Angel
3 Miwa Yama
4 Aboriginal

Eddie Gomez Bass (Acoustic)
Harvey Mason, Sr. Drums
Emily Mitchell Harp
Kenny Kirkland Keyboards
David Spinozza Guitar
Barry Finnerty Guitar
Terumasa Hino Cornet, Flugelhorn, Main Performer, Trumpet
Masabumi Kikuchi Arranger, Keyboards, Piccolo Flute
Mark Gray Keyboards
Gil Evans Arranger
Butch Campbell Guitar
Anthony Jackson Bass
Airto Moreira Percussion
Steve Grossman Sax (Soprano)
Lou Volpe Guitar
Don Alias Percussion
George Mraz Bass (Acoustic)
James Mason Guitar
Manolo Badrena Percussion
Herbie Hancock Keyboards
Lenny White Drums, Handclapping
Sam Morrison Wind Synthesizer
Kiyoski Itoh Producer
Billy Hart Drums
Reggie Workman Bass (Acoustic)
Steve Turre Bass (Acoustic)

Devon Russell – Darker Than Blue

Darker Than Blue (Classic Sound, 1996)
This album is a tribute to Curtis Mayfield.

PRODUCED BY: Devon Russell, Sly Dunbar, Fire House Crew, Chinna
RECORDED AT: Tuff Gong, Channel One, Leggo
MIXED BY: John Lynch, Eddie, Devon Russell
MIXED AT: Easy Street, Lynch
ENGINEERED BY: R Richards, C Bravo, Errol Brown, Donovan Hookim

Track Listing
1. Love to the People
2. Wild and Free
3. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
4. Move on Up
5. Never Too Much Love
6. I Gotta Keep Moving
7. The Makings of You
8. Give Me Your Love
9. Choice of Colors
10. Makings of Version

Miroslav Vitous – First Meeting

Recorded May 1979 at Talent Studio, Oslo
Engineer: Jan Erik Kongshaug
Produced by Manfred Eicher

Miroslav Vitous bass
John Surman soprano saxophone, bass clarinet
Kenny Kirkland piano
Jon Christensen drums

1. Silver Lake
2. Beautiful Place To
3. Trees
4. Recycle
5. First Meeting
6. Concerto In Three Parts
7. You Make Me So Happy


Serenade For The City – Michal Urbaniak

Original Released: 1980 with Label Motown

This production has been re-issued by the artist himself on his label UBX but with a different cover, some of the compositions have undergone a title change and there are 3 extra tracks not available in the original release.

Personnel are:
Michal Urbaniak on violin and lyricon
Barry Eastmond on keyboards
Kenny Kirkland on keyboards
Rick Galloway on percussion
Yogi Horton and Buddy Williams on drums
Marcus Miller on bass
Doc Powell on guitar
Urszula Dudziak on vocals and percussion

Track Listing:
1. Bad Times (not found on the original release)
2. Circular Road (sampled above)
3. Nanava
4. Sometimes
5. Serenada (entitled “Serenade for the City” on the original release)
6. Mika (entitled “Samba Miko” on the original release)
7. Fall
8. Kasia (entitled “Joy” on the original release)
9. Vanessa
10. North One (not found on the original release)
11. French Kiss (not found on the original release)